Sportbike Racing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
2,810 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Lets talk shop.

What do you do for a living? A lot of people b!tch about their jobs. Always saying how much they hate it. So. . .

Why do you do what you do? If it’s just for money that’s cool. I have bills to pay too.

How did you get your job?

I’ll break the ice by starting.
I work as a camera assistant in the movie biz. It’s a pretty cool job. My boss can be a real a$$ at times but the rest of the people I work with are very cool.

I do it because I’ve always wanted to work in “Hollywood” it was a dream of mine since I was 8. I didn’t always know “what” I wanted to do as long as it was in showbiz. There are hundreds of “Hollywood” jobs so why camera assistant? The money and schedule. It pays very well and I get a lot of time off for riding. Conversely, I could always use more money and I have no control over when I work. It’s very tough to plan any trips in advance. But the pluses outweigh the negatives.

To get into “the biz” I had to work for free. Call it an internship without school credit. It was a way for me to network. I met people who would give me future paid jobs and gained valuable experience. I finally got paid work but it was low man on the totem poll. When a vacancy came up in the camera department I went for it. It was much better pay than my job at the time. The production needed a person to fill the position and I was the guy that wanted it. I kinda fell into it.

So what about you?

BTW I am considering changing careers. The dream has faded into reality. The work is cool but no longer very rewarding. I don’t have any idea what I’d do. That’s why I want to hear what you all do.

·
Registered
7,177 Posts
I went from school through a progression of jobs / industries:

1992 - Airline Catering: 7-day weeks, 16+ hour days burnt out (imagine that) after about 9 months when GF said she was sick of never seeing me.