Sportbike Racing Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2,092 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm still new to street bikes so I'm still learning, bare with me please.

My rear tire is starting to look flat in the center. The front still looks new. My question is, how many miles under normal use will I get off tires? They where stock on the bike when I bought it ('05 ninja 500r) and are Perrialli(sp?) Basicly, when should I repleace my tires. So far I have 2k miles on my bike.

Also, what types of things will tires do as they wear? Other than slip smarty :tongue: I mean, will I "feel" any difference and can I stretch the use a bit?

·
Premium Member
38,149 Posts
Tire wear will differ from one person to the next, from one bike to the next. For the 8K miles I can put on a set of Bridgestone BT012SS someone else might only squeeze out 1500 miles. :crazy: Inflation pressures will also play a role in this as underinflation will wear them out quicker.

The Pirelli Dragons I had fitted as OEM lasted (I think) about 12K miles before changing them out.

One wear issue you may encounter is cupping on the front tire. I've never seen a rear tire cupped before though but that doesn't mean it couldn't. A cupped front can behave a little odd at times like the front is wandering around.

·
Registered
1,096 Posts
Pretty much what Duc said. As for how I determine, on mine since I commute with it and ride on the weekends I get a flat spot on the rear. So I just watch the "tread" and once it gets even with the rest I change it out. Now I ride with some people who try and get a couple or rides in after that, but it's just not worth it to me personally.

For the front just like Duc said watch for cupping otherwise watch the groove line too. I normally change out my front with every other rear tire, but some people I ride with change them both out at the same time.
Cupping will look obvious on each side (or one) you will see the tread go up and down as you spin the tire.

·