Sportbike Racing Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4,166 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I gotta say, those Triumph bikes look pretty sweet. Almost on par with Ducati bikes I'd say.

But how do they perform compared to the Big Four?

Real answers, not just short and arrogant ones. C'mon, I'm trying to do something about my ignorance.... something a lot of people don't care to do.

Never argue with an idiot, they'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

·
Registered
376 Posts
I am no expert, but I have ridden alot of bikes and feel the triple has the best all around power delivery. It has the low end punch of a twin, but pulls and revs hard all the way to 11500rpm on my 02 Daytona. Being that the power delivery is very consistent I have yet to find a bike that is comparable as far as comfort, handling, quality, and mostly acceleration. Maybe at speeds above 165-180 a hayabusa or zx12 with the right rider may pull away, but in the real world I have found that the daytona as well as the 02 speed triple have such a jump on the competition, it takes a good distance for the peaky 4 cylinder bikes to catch up. I know I will get alot of flack for this, but it always comes from people who have never ridden a properly mapped and tweaked 02 Daytona, let alone seen one! Tiumph is notorious for a very conservative factory mapping! I have ridden the 1000 gixxer but have since purchased an 01 Mille RSV, which I gave up for an 1150RT. I purchased the 02 Daytona in october and have never looked back or regreted it. Every time I swap bikes with an R-1 or gixxer1000 and get back on the daytona, I feel like I went from a toyota celica to a supercharged Jaguar. Hope that answers your question!

·
Registered
4,166 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
How's the dimensions? I got a small frame and even the Gixxer is a bit too big for me. As well as the seating and peg position. Oh and the wind protection.