Sportbike Racing Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
963 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am saving my pennies to purchase my first sportbike. I am thinking along the lines of a CBRF2, Bandit 600, or something like them. I have ridden my brothers Bandit a few times so I have a small idea as to the performance of the more pedestrian 600's. I have also ridden dirt bikes a bit. I plan to take a MSF class, and get my motorcycle license. I will take it easy at first and progress my riding skills at a reasonable (for me) pace. I am not a proud person, so I am more than willing to learn on a smaller bike. I just suggested the CBR and Bandit as bikes that I can grow into, and have at least a few years of good riding without feeling that I need to "step up".

My questions are;
What should I look for as far as damage or wear?
What would be considered excessive mileage?
What model years would be a good minimum? Is that even an issue?
What other suggestions can you give for a person who is very eager to join the sportbiking (not squidbiking) ranks?
What would be some minimum equipment requirements? I am not the wealthiest person, so I can't go out and get a full set of leathers right away.
What would be some good features to look for on the bike?
What kind of questions should I ask about a maintenance history?

·
Registered
3,139 Posts
As far as damage:

Anything that would prevent the motorcycle from operating in a safe fashion would be bad. Those things that are cosmetic shouldn't be an issue. Watch out for serious rust, though.

Excessive mileage really depends on the care that was given to the bike. 12,000 miles with only 2 oil changes would be excessive mileage. 50,000 with frequent maintenance would still be a good bike.

Model years don't really matter.
My first bike was a 1979, and my latest is a 1973... both ran well (I'm customizing the 1973, so it doesn't run at the moment).