Sportbike Racing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I'm fairly new to motorcycles so forgive me if I sound like an idiot.

I'm having a problem with an 89 Kawi EX500.

The bike starts fine and runs while in neutral but when I click it into gear and release the clutch the bike stalls. No the kickstand isn't down, I'm not quite that new but I'm wondering if the button? sensor? that recognizes the kickstand position may be faulty?

I've replaced the clutch switch under the clutch but that didn't seem to fix the problem?

Any help would be appreciated.

Just as an aside although it may be irrelevant to troubleshooting, the previous owner of the bike put a jumper wire between two of the wires going into the clutch switch that made the bike rideable although the neutral light never goes off.

Thanks for any help,
Brent
Kawi185

·
Registered
852 Posts
Does the bike run fine with the clutch pulled in and the bike in gear? Does it only stall when you attempt to let the clutch out?

bitTRL1000
Midwest CCS #918

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Bike runs fine in neutral, or with the clutch in. Giving throttle and letting clutch out results in stall.

·
Registered
852 Posts
Are one of the brakes stuck? Can you push it back and forth easily? When you give it gas while in neutral, does it stumble as it revs? Maybe your carbeuration is so off that only giving it moderate throttle results in stalling.

bitTRL1000
Midwest CCS #918

·
Registered
2,180 Posts
I'm interested in the neutral light always being on and that the previous owner had already defeated the clutch safety switch - sounds like it's had troubles of this nature before. You can test a safety switch by using a multimeter set to check continuity (if it'll beep at you when you touch the test leads together, so much the better). If the clutch, neutral, and sidestand switches check out, then you likely have a bad wire in the loop, somewhere.

·
Registered