Sportbike Racing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I NEED HELP ON WHAT BIKE SHOULD I BUY. 2002 F4I (7925.OO OUT THE DOOR)OR A 2001 929 (9500.00 OUT THE DOOR).
I AM NEW TO RIDING AND WANT SOMETHING JUST TO CRUISE AROUND TOWN ON. I AM 5"9" AND WEIGH 160 LBS.

·
Registered
863 Posts
Kawasaki EX500
Suzuki GS500
Suzuki sv650

Or any <$1000 standard (no fairing) bike you can get.

Either of the bikes you mentioned are waaaaaaay too much bike for a beginner. Plus you WILL drop it! Even if it's just a 5mph tipover. Start off small and cheap. Find out if motorcycles are for you and move up from there.

Take a course!!!

good luck /images/icons/smile.gif

·
Registered
1,655 Posts
Your height and weight pretty much don't matter.. You should go to the Newbie forum and see what they have posted as some good beginner bikes. Have you even taken the MSF course???

<font color=red>SilverF4/images/icons/cool.gif
<font color=blue>"Respect the Wrist!!!"

·
Registered
61 Posts
You just started riding and you're EVEN thinking about a 929 or an F4i? Are you crazy? *had to close the Buell ad*

Start off small, and work your way up. You don't want to be another guy on this forum who bought a 600 supersport or a liter bike as their first ride and totalled it, or worse, got killed.

Try the EX500, SV650, GS500 or something similar, or if you really want a sporty bike, check out a CBR600F2. Riding is about your ability to handle the bike, not about how cool you look in the parking lot. Get a small bike to learn on, and once you'er comfortable with it, move up.

·
Registered
7,824 Posts
haha, do i go with the 929 or busa ot start out with? hhaha...jesus god almighty, get an older 600 don't be an f'n poser, lay a TON of miles on that bike, learn to ride it fast, before oyu get a beautiful bike and ruin it immediately cause you're a weak newbie rider.

·
Registered
5,011 Posts