Sportbike Racing Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hows it going guys and girls I have few questions that I would like your opinion on. First I have been driving my TLR for about two years and its a great bike with tons of torque. I am getting another bike and was dead set on a Buell Firebolt 1200 but have changed my mind. I am really lookin at Ninja 900 or an R1. My driving habit is mostly straight line racing because I dont have many opportunities for twisties. What would be the better bike for, from a roll racing I really like the Ninja's way it feels. Thanks for the info and sorry a long post.

·
eStarbucks
17,313 Posts
The R1 will be the better bike for speed; the Kawi for comfort. Neither would be a bad choice.

That was the last year of the 9R and it was well due for a change (hence the new 10R) - but for distance it'll be the one to get you there in comfort. The R1 is lighter, faster, more powerful and has higher spec components.

·
Registered
2,180 Posts
Saying the R1 (at least 03 and older) is the better bike for speed is stretching things a bit. A friend of mine has had two ZX9Rs, and two R1s, and I've owned my ZX9R since new in 01.

We've done quite a few roll-ons betwixt the K and Y bikes, and the bike that wins is always the same - the one with me on it :laugh: It's not because of my superior riding skills (coff, coff :rolling:), it's because I weigh in at 160lbs, and he's more like 200.

If track riding was the main criteria for your choice, I'd go for the R1. For street riding, just choose the one that you like best :waytogo:

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks for all your input. I never really liked a narrow bike myself thats why I think I will go with the ZX9R or look into a ZX10R. I will most likely get the 9 though and if I dont feel as though im fast enough I could build the motor. Thanks for all the comments.

·
Registered
1,736 Posts