Sportbike Racing Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie q\'s

Hey I want to get a bike and my motorcycle license. I have no experience riding so this is completely new to me. I have been reading around and am thinking maybe a CBR600 or a Kawasaki ZX6. Any other suggestions? Also what is involved in getting a MC license in NJ? Test? Permit? Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
4,641 Posts
Re: Newbie q\'s

Those are both reasonable choices, but also consider something smaller like a Ninja 250 or 500. You'll still have a lot of fun while you're learning, probably won't kill yourself, and will have no problem selling the bike to another newbie if and when you're ready for an upgrade. Also, buy an older used bike so you won't feel as bad if you drop it.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

yeah I definitly was not looking towards new bikes. Also having never even ridden a dirt bike what is the clutch system like on a bike? any bit similar to a car?

·
Registered
4,641 Posts

It works very much like a car, except you clutch with your hand and shift with your foot. Simple, really, but difficult for some people to get used to.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·

Sounds good thanks. Any idea how long I have to have my permit for in NJ? Does the permit require supervision?

·
Registered
197 Posts

In NY you can sign up for a road test as soon as soon as you get your permit - OR - once you have a permit , and if you have a class D (automobile) liscence you can take the MSF beginner rider course . It's a 3 day class . They explain how everything works then they put you on a bike and teach you the basics of how to ride . At the end there's a road test . If you pass it counts the same as a state (DMV) road test and you'll have a valid class M (motorcycle) liscence /images/icons/smile.gif . You can ask about it at DMV when you go for your permit . I think it costs $175 down by you . Good Luck

·
Registered