Sportbike Racing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok here is the deal, I have always loved the R6 and I plan to pick up a 99-01 R6. I have no riding experience except a few rounds in a parking lot in my friends 96 ZX6-R. I have read the posts from many vetran riders warning about getting a 600 Sportsbike as a frist bike. My friends most of them last summer all bought 600z as first bikes. I understand the potential of a bike such as the R6 and I plan to respect that. I do also plan to take the Safety course. My question is even if I plan to ride safly and respect the bike for its power is it still a very bad idea to start out with this bike? Is is really possible to get a R6 and still be safe? I really appreciate the feedback and also appreciate the concern of many vetran riders, some of your post really hit me and made me think twice. Its also just I don't want to be the only one riding a 250 when all my friends are on 600.

·
Registered
4,166 Posts
Well, is it used? Is it new?

Because one things for sure... you're gonna drop it. And if it's new... well it's really gonna suck.

And I would still recommend a 250. Who cares if you're other friends are on 600's. Unless you are absolutely sure you can handle the 600 and are willing to stake your life on it (you never know if you will), then stick with the 600. Otherwise, go the 250 route.

But I commend you on taking the Safety course. There are many guys who claim to have taken it... but their riding habits reflect otherwise. Or maybe they need to take it again.

·
Registered
4,166 Posts
Ah yes, that is very good reading. I highly recommend you read and absorb every bit of it.

So get rid of all the useless info in your head (like wedding anniversaries, how many wedgies you got in sixth grade, etc.) and replace them with this fountain of knowledge.

What are you doing still reading this? Go and read what jabuan posted right now!

·
Registered
4,510 Posts