Sportbikes Motorcycle Racing Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
976 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I'm about to buy my first sportbike and I thought I'd ask some opinions. I started riding 2 years ago and a wise friend pointed me in the direction of smaller bikes. I settled on a 2000 Suzuki Bandit 600. I am very comfortable on it now and I know I could ride better if my bike didn't feel like such a dog with leaded feet and the suspension didn't feel like a soggy pancake slapping a wooden board.

I suppose I need to be slapped down a little bit and have some folks with experience tell me I am a little insane. I went around looking at and reviewing some of the monster bikes. Obviously, the bikes that are not so good for me are the ones I am drawn to like a moth to a flame. I really enjoy the Hayabusa, GSXR1000, R1, ZX-12R. Though I also fancy the '02 ZX-9R in candy gold. /images/icons/shocked.gif

Anyway, I am 6'2" 200lbs and I don't particulary relish the idea of hugging the gas tanks of the R1 and Gixxer. It would seem to me that the ZX-9R and ZX-12R offer a very nice combination of comfort and handling. I like to ride for distance as well as let it rip now and then. I am also very calculating and I am pretty sure I can control myself in such a fashion as to not ride beyond my abilities.

I guess my question is, am I way out of my league even considering something like a ZX-9R or should I relax a bit and get something else?

Thanks.
Flame Away! /images/icons/wink.gif

·
Registered
388 Posts
Since you have two years experience on a bike a 9R would probably suit you. Just take it really slow. Your close to doubling your weight to power ratio's. An all together different bike.

I've seen it to many times where an inexperienced
rider buys a big bike because he thinks it's cool or desires the need to show off. They usually end up selling the bike because it scares the [email protected] out of them, or they end up getting hurt and totaling the bike.