Sportbike Racing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
bike won\'t start

hi all,
i left my bike (93 ex500) sitting outside, in the cold and rain, without starting it for about 3 months now.
i know it's a mistake, but i'm a newbie.
now it won't start. what should i do now?
tia

·
Registered
0 Posts
Re: bike won\'t start

Jesus, Mary & Joseph! Would you leave a CHILD out in the cold?!?! Ferchrissakesman, rent a garage!( Had to get that out of my system) O.k. Does the battery still have any power in it, or is it dead? You can jump a bike off of a car battery, although you need to know how to PROPERLY connect jumper cables to do so. You'll probably have water in the gas, and thus the carbs, due to condensation, but IF it starts that way, you're really lucky. If it does start through jump starting, let it run for at LEAST 5 minutes before you shut it off, then take, don't ride it to the bike shop/ mechanic friend of your choice & have them check EVERYTHING over. Tire pressure & condition, brakes,(fluid changed yearly),change the oil & filter, clean and/or lube all cables, check & repair any bad lightbulbs, check, adjust & lube chain, basically go over the bike & correct anything that may have gone awry in the off months while sitting out in the cold being neglected & unloved by it's once adoring owner who felt no guilt or shame leaving it outdoors to fend for itself.( Oh the HUMANITY!!)(HAHAHA!!!!!)But seriously...
Have a competent mechanic or friend go over the bike BEFORE you ride it, and ask to watch if possible, you'll definately learn from it. Good luck!!

<font color=purple> This bike capable of evading high speed pursuit!</font color=purple>

·
Registered
3,879 Posts

have you tried push starting it?? Is it even cranking over?? (get a real good friend to push ya!) :)