Sportbike Racing Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
bike won\'t start

hi all,
i left my bike (93 ex500) sitting outside, in the cold and rain, without starting it for about 3 months now.
i know it's a mistake, but i'm a newbie.
now it won't start. what should i do now?
tia

·
Registered
2,180 Posts
Re: bike won\'t start

Won't start like it cranks over but won't fire? Or won't start like you hit the button and all you hear is the birds chirping?

I'd guess that the second situation is what you're experiencing, and that you have a dead battery. But, if it is cranking over fine, make sure you have fuel, that the petcock is on (you may have to turn it to "prime" for a bit first), and hope that your carbs aren't too gummed up...

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

i think it begins to try to crank over, but after a second (literally)--nothing.
after hitting the start button so many times, now it just pops the rpm up to 4000 without any cranking/activity at all.
probably a dead battery?
a push start didn't seem to help much either.

·
Registered
3,139 Posts

If the bike hasn't been run or properly winterized in 3 months, it will definately be difficult to bump start.

But try harder anyway. It would also help to put the battery on a charger.

A good way to bump start a bike is to have a friend push you as you straddle the bike. After you dump the clutch in 3rd gear, have your friend keep pushing to keep the inertia going.

Otherwise, hook your bike up to your car battery and plug that starter in 5 - 10 second intervals.

·
Registered
1,402 Posts

First of all, smack yourself for neglecting your bike! /images/icons/cool.gif