Sportbike Racing Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
E-Tard
11,817 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've started dealing with the kind, compassionate people over at work comp. :flame:

I think I'm getting royally screwed but, I've never worked with them before and that may be "just how it works".

I will be IOD (injury on duty) for 6 weeks but, I am able to come back and do what's called "light duty". Basically, I get to be the billing biotch for 6 weeks.

My supervisor told me that if I take the first 3 days off as sick time after the initial injury, work comp would reimburse my 3 days lost. So, I took the 3 days off.

Turns out this was wrong. You have to take 10 days off and then they reimburse you for 3 days. /wwwthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif WTF

I've been collecting my sick time (now at 520 hours) because when I hit the 720 hour mark, it rolls over into my vacation time. So, basically I would be collecting vacation time at double the rate. Now I've just burned 32 hours of my sick time for this. It's taken 8+ years to get to the 520 hours. :flame:

MLK day we get paid time-and 1/2. Plus, we get 8 hours of holiday time (like vacation time). Because I am on light duty, I can't work on that day. They don't allow you to work light duty and make time and a half. That means that I have to take the day as either a sick day (12 hours) or as vacation day.
I also don't get the 8 hours of holiday time. :flame:

I can't work at my other job due to this injury either so there goes another chunk of my income.

I feel like I'm being screwed big time and the incident wasn't even my fault. I could sue the driver of the other vehicle but, he had no license, no insurance and kids. I would hate to think that I would be taking food/clothing or whatever from his kids. :bawling:

Anyone else dealt with work comp? Can you give me some advice? I know the rules are different depending on where you live.

·
Registered
200 Posts